Dane Jentsch

Grandview's Dane Jentsch was voted as the TSWA Class 3A All-State offensive player of the year as well as a first-team selection at quarterback.

The Grandview Zebras received seven selections on the 2019 Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State Football Team.

Grandview junior quarterback Dane Jentsch is the Class 3A offensive player of the year in what was a “runaway” vote after he helped lead the Zebras to their second consecutive state championship.

Jentsch completed 198-of-298 passes for 3,349 yards with 34 touchdowns against only five interceptions to go along with 1,028 rushing yards and 15 TDs on 147 carries.

In last year’s TSWA All-State voting, Jentsch was a second-team selection on offense and honorable mention on defense.

Other honors for Jentsch from the 2019 season include All-Johnson County MVP, all-district offensive player of the year, MaxPreps All-American, and the Dave Campbell’s Texas Football and Whataburger Super Team.

Grandview Coach Ryan Ebner is the TSWA Class 3A co-coach of the year along with Gunter’s Jake Fieszel. In his first season as head football coach, Ebner guided the Zebras to a 15-1 record and their second consecutive Class 3A Division I state title.

In addition to Jentsch’s offensive player of the year honor, he’s also the first-team quarterback on the TSWA Class 3A All-State Team. 

Joining Jentsch as a first-team selection on offense is senior center Brody Smith, who recorded 82 knockdowns and 63 pancakes with a 96 percent grade. Smith was also an All-Johnson County and all-district first-team selection for the Zebras as a pivotal part of Grandview’s success offensively.

Brody Smith

Grandview senior center Brody Smith is a first-team selection on the Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State Football Team.

Garnering TSWA All-State second-team honors are Grandview senior wide receiver Austin Boyd and senior linebacker Michael Lehnhardt.

Boyd was also the All-Johnson County co-utility player of the year and an all-district special teams MVP. On offense, Boyd hauled in 59 receptions for 1,107 yards and 12 TDs.

For Lehnhardt, this marks his second straight TSWA second-team all-state honor. The Zebras’ starting middle linebacker registered 121 tackles, nine tackles for loss, eight sacks, and three forced fumbles. He also received All-Johnson County and all-district defensive player of the year accolades for the 2019 season.

Grandview junior defensive end Dametrious Crownover is a third-team selection for the Zebras while senior running back Tremayne Gullatte receives honorable mention.

Crownover recorded 62 tackles, 15 tackles for loss, 5.5 sacks and four passes defensed, and he also earned All-Johnson County and all-district first-team honors.

Gullatte, an All-Johnson County and all-district first-team selection, rushed for 1,497 yards and 22 TDs on 243 carries.

React to this story:


Recommended for you