The Godley Lady Cats, Keene Lady Chargers and Grandview Lady Zebras took the top three spots in the District 11-2A girls’ standings.

And when it came to the all-district team, as chosen by the coaches of the league, the same three dominated the selections.

Godley senior Narisa Trammell and Grandview senior Shataura Johnson shared the Most Valuable Player honors, while Keene junior Jessica Medina and Grandview junior Kayla Emmons won special awards as well.

Early in the season, it didn’t look as if Trammell, last year’s Defensive Player of the Year, would play much due to a knee injury. But after surgery, Trammell worked her way back into the lineup, helping lead the Lady Cats to 12 straight wins, including a 10-0 mark during the district campaign.

Johnson missed the first two games of the district season, but was a force to be reckoned with in the final eight, including a pair of outings where she scored over 30 points.

Medina, a guard for the Lady Chargers, was named the Defensive Player of the Year in the league. A solid outside shooter, Medina was even better on the defensive side of the ball, often guarding the opposing team’s best player.

Emmons, an all-district performer last year, was perhaps the most explosive offensive player in the district this season. She averaged nearly 20 points per game in league play and had a 40-point outing against McGregor in the first round of the playoffs.

Maypearl freshman Rachel Holmes and Rio Vista sophomore Tabatha Fuller were honored as Co-Newcomers of the Year.

Holmes stepped right into the starting lineup for the Lady Panthers and was among the team leaders in a number of categories, while Fuller entered the Rio Vista lineup and had a solid season.

Itasca senior Nichole Channon was honored as the league’s Sixth Man of the Year.

Keene head coach Michelle Smiley-Connelly was chosen as the Coach of the Year in the district after leading the Lady Chargers to a second straight second-place finish in the league.

The district’s first-team choices include Godley juniors Khristi Shurbet and Tiffanny Flores, Keene junior Nanika Brochu, Rio Vista senior Kristi Cashion, Maypearl junior Samantha Almond and Rio Vista sophomore Katie Martin.

Second-team all-district honors went to Itasca senior Danitra Marshall, Grandview senior Meagan Cooksey, Keene sophomore Lace Clark, Grandview senior Jamie Fuller, Godley sophomore Maeci McPherson and Maypearl senior Jessica Ikard.

A total of 11 players were selected as honorable mention all-district. Among those named were the Keene duo of Chelsea Hadley and Ruth John, the Grandview pair of Nicki Johnson and Kelly Jo Eblen, the Godley tandem of Chelsea Brooks and Michelle Singleton, the Rio Vista duo of Rachel Surratt and Amanda Johnson, Itasca’s Alecia Evans and the Maypearl pair of Jordan Briggs and Sarah Taylor.

Daniel Green can be reached at 817-645-2441, ext. 2334, or

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you