Alvarado senior Jermaine Odom had a season to remember, while Indian head coach Jeff Dixon guided his team to the playoffs in his first year at the helm.

As a result, both Odom and Dixon were honored by District 15-4A.

Odom was a unanimous selection for Offensive Player of the Year, while Dixon and the rest of the Alvarado staff were named Coaches of the Year, as chosen by the coaches in District 15-4A.

Odom, who missed some time with injuries, finished the season with 1,656 yards and nine touchdowns on 250 carries, with nearly 1,000 of those yards coming during district play.

In one of the finest games of his career, Odom ran for 374 yards in a playoff-clinching victory over the Crowley Eagles in the last regular season game of the year.

After a slow start, Dixon guided the Indians to a 3-8 overall record, including a 3-2 district record. The Indians opened with six straight losses, but won three of their final four to make the postseason, where they lost in the waning seconds to Killeen Ellison.

But Odom wasn’t the only Indian recognized for their efforts this season as four others won first-team all-district honors.

Senior Kerrick Hawkins was selected as a first-team tight end along with Everman’s Brandon Whitaker, while senior defensive end Jacob Rowe was named to squad.

Senior Clayton Powell made the all-district team for a second straight year at linebacker, while junior Matt Faulkenberry was named first-team all-district at punter.

Five other Indians received second-team all-district recognition, while two more were honorable mention selections.

Four of the five second-teamers were on offense, led by junior running back Woodrow Apfel, senior wide receiver David Farmer, senior offensive guard Matt Hilts and junior offensive tackle Gerald Cole.

Junior defensive lineman Caleb Rohm was the other second-team all-district pick for Alvarado.

The honorable mention all-district picks for the Indians were Chase Isom at offensive tackle and Aaron Ramby at safety.

Everman quarterback Maurice Moore was chosen as the Player of the Year in the district after leading the Bulldogs to the district title. He was joined in the superlative category by sophomore running back C.J. Jennings, who was the Newcomer of the Year.

Waxahachie defensive end Jacob Fincher picked up Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Senior quarterback Brandon Rossi was one of three Timberview athletes named first-team all-district, joining wide receiver Franklin Johnson and safety Brett Ginn on the squad.

Waxahachie had six players named first-team all-district, including running back Kinnorise Dickerson, wide receiver Aldrick Robinson, offensive guard Jason Hannon, placekicker Blaine Christopher, defensive lineman Josh Dowdell and linebacker Kevin McCluskey.

Everman landed 11 on the first-team all-district squad.

Offensively, Whitaker was joined on the team by wide receiver Kris Adams, guard Steffan Prince and tackle Andrew Fletcher, Defensively, the Bulldogs had Terrion Lockridge and Jerrell Jones make the squad as defensive linemen, Lawrence Alexander at defensive end, Juan Oropeza at linebacker, the duo of Adams and Tim Franklin at cornerback and Johnny Fobbs at safety.

Crowley and Midlothian rounded out the first-team all-district squad with a combined six choices, with four going to the Eagles.

Making the first team for Crowley were senior running back Andrew Shaw, senior center Brett Brandon, junior defensive lineman John-Jacob Salazar and senior cornerback Craig Washington.

For Midlothian, the Panthers were represented on the squad by running back Carl James and offensive tackle Jordan Shoemaker.

Daniel Green can be reached at 817-645-2441, ext. 2334, or

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you