Despite not making the playoffs this season, the Burleson Elks landed eight players on the 4-5A all-district football team, as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Three of the eight Elks were chosen to the first team, including one of offense and two on defense.

Senior running back Bryan Moron was tabbed first-team all-district, along with three other district backs, including North Crowley’s DeAndre Davis, Paschal’s Jess Brown and Weatherford’s Willie Fielder.

Defensively, the Elks were represented on the first team by inside linebacker Landon Gillaspie and defensive tackle Russell Cole.

Gillaspie, a senior, led Burleson in tackles this season and was an all-district performer a year ago, when the Elks were in the playoffs.

Cole, another senior, won first-team honors for the first time as a member of the Elks’ defensive line.

The other five Elk players were second-team all-district choices on offense, including three on the offensive line.

Senior tight end Caleb Hodge was joined on the second team by senior guard Justin Prater and junior tackle John Phares.

Junior fullback Mike Stane, who rushed for over 1,000 yards, was also a second-teamer, along with junior running back/wide receiver Windsor Rippetoe.

The district’s Most Valuable Player this year was North Crowley quarterback Jeff Panfil. Panfil passed for over 2,000 yards this season as he led the Panthers to their first-ever district title.

The league’s Offensive Player of the Year went to Summit junior John Chiles, while the Defensive Player of the Year was Mansfield senior Adrian Taylor.

In the newcomer department, Mansfield sophomore Donovan Roberts was the Offensive Newcomer of the Year, while Summit sophomore Adam Visosky was the Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Boswell quarterback Taylor Weidman was selected first-team all-district due to his impressive junior season, with Summit senior Phillip Smith being named first-team all-district at fullback.

Boswell’s Cody Hodges, Granbury’s Justice Baker and North Crowley’s Broderic Terry were first-team choices at wide receiver, while Granbury junior Cameron Epple was the first-team tight end.

North Crowley’s Ben Baudouin and Summit’s Ben Wilmouth were named first-team all-district at offensive guard, while the trio of Summit’s Kyle Smith, Paschal’s Will Conine and North Crowley’s Ryan Torres were chosen as first-team offensive tackles.

Boswell senior Colton Huddleston was a unanimous choice as the team’s center.

Gillaspie was joined as a first-team inside linebacker by Summit senior Josh Zamora, while Mansfield’s Mitchell Short, Summit’s Nick Ruscinski and Paschal’s Matthew Sherman were chosen at outside linebacker.

Joining Cole as a first-team defensive tackle was North Crowley’s Andre Smith and Summit’s Ryan Reeves, while Summit’s Justin Bell and North Crowley’s Willie Williams were chosen as the top defensive ends in the district.

North Crowley’s Charles Davis and Summit’s Jonathan Nelson were unanimous all-district picks in the defensive secondary. They were joined in the defensive backfield by Summit’s Jeremy Dennis, Mansfield’s Cameron Dears, Granbury’s Josh Hunt and North Crowley’s Tyelor Caliman.

On special teams, North Crowley junior Adi Kunalic, who kicked a school record three field goals of 50 yards or more, including a 57-yarder, was named at placekicker, while Summit sophomore Quinn Sharp was chosen at punter.

North Crowley’s Anthony Anderson was named as the league’s top kick returner.

Daniel Green can be reached at 817-645-2441, ext. 2334, or

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you