Baylee Mobley

Baylee Mobley received TSWA Class 4A Third-Team All-State recognition after registering 555 kills for the Godley Lady Cats in 2022.

A trio of Johnson County players received recognition on the Texas Sports Writers Association 2022 All-State Volleyball Team while state champion Blum was also well-represented.

Godley junior Baylee Mobley, Grandview senior Shelby Martin and Grandview junior Kenzi Williamson received votes on the TSWA All-State Team.

Mobley received third-team honors at outside hitter on the TSWA Class 4A All-State Team. Mobley had a dominant 2022 season with 555 kills as she helped the Lady Cats win their first outright district title in 13 years. Mobley also earned All-Johnson County offensive player of the year recognition and first-team all-district honors.

Martin made the TSWA Class 3A All-State third team at outside hitter after helping lead the Lady Zebras to the regional tournament for the first time since 2008. Martin had 557 kills with 364 digs, 67 aces and 34 blocks as she also earned All-Johnson County co-MVP honors and District 17-3A MVP recognition.

Williamson received honorable mention at setter on the TSWA Class 3A All-State Team. Williamson was one of the most productive setters in the state as she recorded 1,015 assists to go along with 240 digs, 88 aces and 59 kills. In addition to all-state honorable mention, Williamson was also the All-Johnson County co-setter of the year and District 17-3A server of the year.

Blum Coach Lauren McPherson is the Class A coach of the year while Blum’s Kinsley McPherson is the Class A co-player of the year along with Fayetteville’s Brooklyn Jaeger.

Blum’s Emma Scott and Kayden Arrington each received TSWA Class A first-team all-state honors while Blum’s Peyton Sanders and Ruby Rumohr were third-team selections.

Blum won the Class A state championship, beating D’Hanis, 3-0, in the state final. Blum finished the 2022 season with a 33-13 record, including winning every playoff match by a 3-0 mark for one of the most dominant playoff runs in recent memory.

The Class 6A player of the year is Dripping Springs’ Mackenzie Plante and the Class 6A coach of the year is Dripping Springs’ Michael Kane.

The Class 5A player of the year is Mansfield Timberview’s Reese Robins and the Class 5A coach of the year is Colleyville Heritage’s Josh McKinney.

The Class 4A player of the year is Canyon Randall’s Jordyn Gove and the Class 4A coach of the year is Canyon Randall’s Haleigh Burns.

The Class 3A player of the year goes to Gunter’s Rayanna Mauldin while the Class 3A coach of the year is Gunter’s Katelyn Gill.

Windthorst’s Rylee Wolf and Allison Bussey are the Class 2A player and coach of the year, respectively.

Voting was conducted by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and media members from around the state.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you