Voters approved two of the three propositions for the Cleburne ISD 2021 bond on Saturday night.

Proposition A, which includes major renovations and additions to Wheat Middle School and minor renovations to Smith Middle School, passed 1,158-1,100.

“This was a huge victory for kids and we are so thankful to the voters in approving propositions A and C,” CISD Superintendent Kyle Heath said. “We can now move forward with our academic realignments, with the bond providing major renovations and additions at Wheat Middle School to serve all CISD seventh and eighth-graders. 

“The same holds true for the Lowell Smith campus, where minor improvements and renovations will be conducted for its conversion to an intermediate school for all fifth- and sixth-grade students.”

The new grade configurations, which include elementary campuses converting to serve pre-kindergarten to fourth grade, are anticipated to be implemented in the 2023-2024 school year when construction at Wheat and Smith is completed. 

“We will be working fast to get these two campuses ready, with the passage of proposition A,” Heath said. “Thank you to our CISD voters who supported the bond referendum.”

Also approved was Proposition C, which will provide instructional technology devices districtwide, with 1,182 votes for and 1,070 against.

“I am also grateful to the parents, community members and teachers who served on the Academic Alignment Advisory Committee and Facilities Advisory Committee,” Heath said. “They gave hours of time in study and research in shaping the 2021 Bond recommendation for presentation to our trustees.”

Proposition B failed, with 1,213 against and 1,041 for. That bond included the construction of a new Student Activity Center at Cleburne High School, a new tennis center at Wheat for use by both the high school and middle school programs and additional parking at CHS.

The bond will not increase the district’s property tax rate. The current rate of $1,5147 will not increase.


Alvarado’s special election resulted in a new mayor, Jacob Wheat. Wheat had 139 overs over Michael Noble.


In Burleson, Victoria Johnson claimed the Council Place 1 seat with 1,429 votes over incumbent Stuart Gillaspie’s 1,229 and challenger David O’Connor’s 128.

There will be a run-off for Council Place 3, which had four vying for the seat. Incumbent Katherine Reading had 1,255 votes and Jimmy Stanford had 1,245. Also competing were Matthew Gee, who received 184 votes, and Bertina A. Else, who received 92 votes.

Incumbent Dan McClendon won Council Place 5, with 1,502 votes over Melissa Tinkle’s 1,269 votes.

Only 30,031 residents voted, which is 9.3% of Burleson’s population.

Early voting for the runoff election will be from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. May 31 through June 4 and June 7-8.

On June 12, Election Day, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. All voting is at Burleson City Hall, 141 W. Renfro St.


Voters approved a proposition to reauthorize local sales tax to dedicate 1/8 of 1 percent toward maintenance and repair of municipal streets. 

The proposition passed 121-10.

The tax will expire on the fourth anniversary of the election date unless reauthorized by voters at that time.

Godley ISD

A $168.5 million bond for Godley ISD passed, 376-159, which is Phase 1 of projects the district has planned. 

Several factors, including previous debt repayment, growth in the district and a higher tax base, will create additional financial capacity over time for the district. The bonds for the Phase 2 projects will be sold as financial capacity becomes available.


In Grandview, Lori Martin claimed the Place 4 council seat with 55 votes. Challengers William Houston received 33 votes and Rachael Lynch received 5 votes.

Johnson County ESD No. 1

Voters living in the Johnson County ESD No. 1 service area approved a proposition calling for the adoption of a local sales tax at a rate not to exceed 2 percent in any location in the district.

The proposition passed 450-326.

Long-range plans for the increase will help provide stipends for volunteer firefighters, a training coordinator, equipment and apparatus, fire dispatch upgrades and supplemental paid personnel.


Merle Breitenstein won the Place 4 seat for Joshua City Council with 139 votes over Doug Taylor's 118 votes.

In Place 6, Scott Kimble won with 164 votes over Danny Turpen's 88 votes.

Joshua ISD

Cody Lee won the Place 3 seat for the Joshua ISD school board. He had 157 votes, with Chris Ohlsen receiving 135 and Melissa Frazier receiving 23.

Place 4 board member Gene Loflin was undefeated and received 282 votes.

Venus ISD

Gerell Leonard won the Place 1 seat on the Venus ISD board of trustees with 112 votes over Ben Clopton’s 53 votes.

The Place 2 seat went to Joe Russell, who had 104 votes over Debra Cruce’s 66 votes.

All published counts are unofficial until canvassed by the candidate’s party.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you