With the filing deadline having passed on Monday, council races for the May 9 elections throughout Johnson County are set. Several cities will cancel their elections because they have no contested races.

The following is a list of candidates by city:


Single Member District 2

Craig Robert Nunn

Virginia Gayle White

Councilman Bob Force chose not to seek re-election.

Single Member District 3

Richard Dale Sturgeon

Councilman Kyle Boles chose not to seek re-election.


The four unopposed races include the following candidates.

Bruce Clark, Ward I

Joe Sain, Ward II

Tom Moore, Ward III

In a special election, to fill an empty seat vacated by former Councilwoman Mellie Ferguson, who retired, the only candidate to file was Michael Rayburn.


Place 1

Stuart Gillaspie (I)

Tom Scott

Place 3

James Matthew Powell (I)

Michael Cummings Jr.

Place 5

Dan McClendon (I)

Thomas John French


All races unopposed. Candidates in the three races include:

Rosemary Fuller

Jan Whitehead

MaryAnn Matthews


Place 2

Glen David Walden (I)

Place 4

Jimmy “Butch” Mayfield (I)

Larry Taylor

A.J. Mathieu

Place 6

Bob Neely (I)

Larry Allen

Rio Vista

Place 1

Georgia Jones (I)

Brenda Hall

Tammy Riffenburg

Place 2

Ruth Hardin (I)

Kenneth Dickerson


William Keith Hutchison (I)

Russell Green

Option elections will also be held on May 9 for Cleburne and Rio Vista.

The Cleburne election involves the sale of beer and wine for off-premise consumption and the sale of mixed drinks in restaurants that have both a food and beverage certificate.

The Rio Vista election involves the sale of liquor for off-premise consumption.

The city of Keene holds elections in November.

React to this story:


Recommended for you