Kristen Clark, 4-H Youth Development Agent presents Tanner Tilton with the first Tanner Tilton Spirit of 4-H award.

After receiving his Spirit of 4-H award, Tanner Tilton celebrated a little and then went to hug people he felt helped him achieve everything he did this year and in the years he’s been a part of Johnson County 4-H.

“The best thing about Tanner is his positive and uplifting attitude and the impact he has made on so many of our 4-H-ers,” said Justin Hale, Johnson County Agriculture Extension Agent, when presenting for the first time to Tilton, the namesake Tanner Tilton Spirit of 4-H award. “Everyone has a Tanner story.”

As an example, Johnson County Commissioner Larry Woolley told his own “Tanner story,” describing a moment when, as qualifiers for nationals were being announced at a recent Fort Worth Dairy Contest, it became clear Johnson County 4-H was about to head to Wisconsin for the event.

Woolley said as it became quiet just before the judge made the announcement official, Tilton said, “‘Looks like we’re going to Wisconsin.’”

Since 2010, Tilton and his brothers and family through the Friendship 4-H have been involved in showing cattle, judging meat and dairy, participating in public speaking and other leadership activities, Hale said.

Over the past four years, Hale said, Tilton has shown steers at the Johnson County Livestock Show, Fort Worth Stock Show and Houston Livestock Show.

Among Tilton’s favorite activities at the shows are running the blow dryer and working hair. He also likes to sit in the stands and show off his vuvuzela — a plastic horn — skills.  

Tilton also received the 4-H record book award for his beef project.  

It was clear Tilton’s spirit was infectious, given the round of applause he received at the banquet, and like all 4-H-ers, he is dedicated and hard working.

These are traits all 4-H members possess, as Leslie Woolley noted early in the program, when acknowledging the achievements of the National qualifier teams in meat judging and Horse Quiz Bowl.

She and Robin Hardin coached those teams and they saw those traits, among others, in action during Nationals.

Some past members of the team have jobs outside of school and they are hired because of their responsibility, a trait taught in 4-H, she said.

“These [employers] like having kids that are responsible and hard working,” she said.

Among the highlights of the evening are the awards given for members turning in record books, an opportunity through a wide variety of projects to learn record keeping. There were 17 record book award recipients:

• Summer Brady, food and nutrition.

• Dayla Carreon, swine.

• Elizabeth Crisp, shooting sports.

• Jhett Davis, agriculture science.

• Daizie Ebbens, agriculture science.

• Reagan Ellison, citizenship.

• Trey Hardin, horse.

• Mia Meehan, swine.

• Emma Pool, photography.

• Rendon Powledge, horse.

• Brecken Shipman, beef.

• Grace Sitler, food and nutrition.

• Rebecca Stevens, clothing and textiles.

• Tanner Tilton, beef project.

• Poppy Twombly, agriculture science.

• Callie Welty, public speaking.

• Brandon White, goat.

• Rachel White, goat.

Silver Clover and Super Silver Clover awards were presented to Dayla Carreon, Elizabeth Crisp, Jhett Davis, Daizie Ebbens, Jett Garren, Mia Meehan, Emma Pool, Samantha Sibley, Grace Sitler, Rebecca Stevens, Poppy Twombly, Callie Welty and Brandon White.

Volunteer Leader of the Year was Chad Hamill, while Johnson County Sheriff’s Posse received the Friend of 4-H award. The Workhorse Award was presented to Lindsay Tenery.

The Outstanding Junior Members were Mia Meehan and Dayla Carreon, while Grace Sitler was named the Outstanding Intermediate Member. Trey Hardin received the Danforth I Dare You Leadership award. The Gold Star award was presented to Rachel White.

In addition, 2017-18 officers were installed. They included Chairmain Lindsay Tenery, First Vice Chairman Lindsey Jones, Second Vice Chairman Rachel White, Secretary Reagan Ellison, Treasurer Trey Hardin, Historian Callie Welty, Reporter Ainslea Price, Parliamentarian Kevin Thomas and Delegate-at-Large Lydia Guereca.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you