Election 2020

Election Day Nov. 3rd.

Texas voters can start casting their ballots in-person on Tuesday.

Johnson County Elections Administrator Patty Bourgeois encouraged residents to take advantage of early voting, and urged patience.

“This is going to be an extremely busy election year,” Bourgeois said. “So, if at all possible, it’s probably better to vote early than to wait until Election Day. Either way, please be patient. 

“We’re predicting big crowds throughout the election. The city and school elections, which would’ve been earlier in the year, got pushed to November because of COVID-19. 

“So, we’re dealing with not only the presidential and county elections, but also the local entities. Our poll workers are here to help and working as hard as they can but please keep in mind that it’s going to be busy and be patient.”

Cleburne elections

In a normal election year Cleburnites would have voted on council races on May 2.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic and 2020 being anything but a normal year, Gov. Greg Abbott in March issued a proclamation authorizing Cleburne and other political subdivisions who otherwise hold May elections to move those contests to the Nov. 3 general election, which this year just happens to be a presidential election. 

Given that a heavy turnout is predicted because of that and other federal and state races, Cleburne officials, in May, joined Abilene and other cities in requesting authorization to hold city elections in July or August instead of November. 

In this year’s city council races, Mayor Scott Cain seeks re-election and is challenged by John Paul “JP” Lowery and Tommy Molloy. Candidate Derek Weathers runs unopposed in the Single Member District 1 race. SMD 1 Councilman Bob Kelly chose not to seek re-election. SMD 4 Councilman John Warren closes out the slate of candidates and sits unopposed in his re-election bid.

Keene Elections

The candidates (per the ballot order) for Keene mayor are Samantha Gillin, incumbent Gary Heinrich and Kevin Romanelli.

The candidates (per the ballot order) for Council seats are:

• Ward II: incumbent Gwen Beeson and Thomas Gutwa

• Place I: incumbent Lisa Parrish, Gilbert Perez II and Cheryl Schram

• Place III: incumbent James Belz, Phillip Jackson and Ray Johnson.

Early voting for Keene city elections will be held at the Johnson County Elections Office, 103 S. Walnut St. in Cleburne.

Burleson elections

Burleson voters will have their choice of six candidates in four races as a mix of political veterans and newcomers face off in the city election. All Burleson City Council seats are elected at-large for three-year terms.

For the mayor’s seat, voters have two options (in alphabetical order):  Chris Fletcher and Ken Shetter. Fletcher is a former local business owner. Incumbent Ken Shetter was elected mayor in June of 2004, during his second term on Burleson’s City Council.

In Place 2, incumbent Rick Green is running unopposed. Green is serving his fifth term as a member of the council.

In Place 4, incumbent Todd Hulsey (elected in 2016) is being challenged by Tamara Payne, a 24-year resident of Burleson, entrepreneur and small business owner. Hulsey served on the Zoning Board of Adjustment before he won his council seat.

In Place 6, incumbent Ronnie Johnson is running unopposed. Johnson has served on the council since 2012.

All voting will take place in the Multipurpose Room A at the Burleson Senior Activity Center, 216 S.W. Johnson Ave.

Elections workers needed

Temporary elections workers are needed to help with early voting, election day and central count. Hourly rate is $11. 

Bilingual personnel are also needed to serve as interpreters.

To serve as an interpreter, general eligibility and duties include:

• Must be a registered voter of the county and speak English and Spanish.

• May accompany the voter to the voting station for the purpose of translating the ballot to the voter.

• Available to work during early voting by personal appearance at various locations throughout the county.

• Available to work on Election Day from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at a polling place.

• A person cannot hold an elected office or be a candidate for public office on Election Day and cannot be an employee or relative of a candidate or office holder.

For information, call 817-556-6197.

Voter ID

To vote in-person, all registered voters are required to present one of seven approved forms of photo identification.

Here is a list of the acceptable forms of photo ID:

• Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS.

• Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS.

• Texas Handgun License issued by DPS.

• United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph.

• United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph.

• United States Passport (book or card).

If unable to obtain one of the photo IDs.  You may fill out a declaration at the polls explaining why and bring one of the supporting documents. Here is a list of the supporting forms of ID that can be presented:

• Copy or original of a government document that shows the voter’s name and an address, including the voter’s voter registration certificate.

• Copy of or original current utility bill.

• Copy of or original bank statement.

• Copy of or original government check.

• Copy of or original paycheck.

• Copy of or original of a certified domestic (from a u.S. State or territory) birth certificate or a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law which establishes the voter’s identity (which may include a foreign birth document).

Polling locations

Early voting begins Tuesday and runs through Oct. 30.

Voters may choose to vote in any one of the below locations regardless of where they reside in Johnson County:

• Johnson County Elections, 103 S. Walnut St. in Cleburne.

• Cleburne Conference Center, 1501 W. Henderson St. in Cleburne.

• Godley City Hall, 200 W. Railroad St. in Godley.

• Burleson Sub-Courthouse, 247 Elk Drive, Room 104, in Burleson.

• Alvarado Sub-Courthouse, 206 N. Baugh St. in Alvarado.

• Precinct 3 Maintenance Facility, 10420 E. FM 917 in Alvarado.

• Precinct 4 Maintenance Facility, 4300 E. FM 4 in Cleburne.

• Venus Community Center, 210 Walnut St. in Venus.

Hours are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and Oct. 19-23. On Oct. 24, hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. On Oct. 25, hours are 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. On Oct. 26-30, hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For information about voting, visit votetexas.gov.

React to this story:


Recommended for you