Council art

Cleburne council members elected and/or re-elected on Nov. 3 will officially be sworn today at noon in council chambers of Cleburne City Hall, 10 N. Robinson St.

According to election night returns, which as yet remain unofficial, Mayor Scott Cain easily won re-election garnering 7,340 votes. Cain’s competitors, Tommy Molloy and John Paul “J.P.” Lowery, received 1,192 and 1,099 votes respectively.

In the Single Member District 4 race, Councilman John Warren ran for re-election unopposed and received 952 votes.

The sole new addition to the council comes courtesy of Derek Weathers who ran unopposed for the SMD 1 seat and received 1,810 votes. SMD 1 Councilman Bob Kelly chose not to seek re-election.

During today’s meeting, Cleburne City Secretary Ivy Peterson will first call for a canvas of the Nov. 3 votes.

In accordance with Chapter 67 of the Texas Election Code, two members of the council will serve as the canvassing authority charged with reviewing the election records and finalized tally of early votes, Election Day votes and ballot by mail votes.

Following presentation of colors, the Pledge of Allegiance and an invocation, the three candidates will take their oaths of office and receive certificates of election. 

County canvas

A canvas of votes in the Johnson County Commissioners Court races will also be held at 9 a.m. today in Room 201 of the Johnson County Courthouse, 2 Main St. in Cleburne.

The unofficial counts of those votes reflect that Republican candidate Mike White prevailed in his bid for the Precinct 3 Seat. White collected 13,263 votes compared to 4,776 for his Democratic opponent Chris Evans. Jerry Stringer, the current Precinct 3 commissioner, chose not to seek re-election.

In the only other commissioner’s race this year, Rick Bailey collected 13,297 votes in his unopposed re-election bid.

Both Bailey and White will be officially sworn in in January.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you