Early voting for the several county and statewide elections runs through Oct. 29.

County residents, regardless of where they reside in the county, may vote early at any of the following locations:

• Johnson County Courthouse, Room B6, 2 N. Main St., Cleburne.

• Hill Junior College, 2112 Mayfield Boulevard, Cleburne.

• Burleson Sub-Courthouse Annex, Room 104, 247 Elk Drive, Burleson.

• Johnson County Pioneers and Old Settlers Reunion Building, 111 Reunion Drive, Alvarado.

• Commissioner Precinct 3 Maintenance Facility, 10420 E. FM Road 917. Alvarado.

• Commissioner Precinct 4 Maintenance Facility, 4300 E. FM 4, Cleburne.

County and area races include:

U.S. Congressional

District 17

U.S. Rep. Chet Edwards, D — Waco faces Republican candidate Bill Flores.

State Representative

District 56

State Rep. Rob Orr, R — Burleson faces Democratic candidate John Greene.

Justice of the Peace

Precinct 4

Republican candidate Johnny Bekkelund faces Democratic candidate Angela Ecord.

Several other county offices as well as the State Senate District 22 seat are up for election as well. All are unopposed.

For information on county or state elections, call the Johnson County Elections office at 817-556-6197 or visit www.johnsoncountyelections.com.

Cleburne election

Cleburne residents may vote on a proposal to increase the city’s sales tax by 1/4 of a cent to provide revenue for maintenance and repair of existing city streets.

City officials estimate the increase would result in $1.5 million to $1.75 million annually for street repairs. Funds collected from the increase cannot be used to construct new streets.

Early voting runs until Oct. 29 at Cleburne City Hall at 10 N. Robinson St.

Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. today, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, 1-6 p.m. Sunday and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday-Friday.

Residents may vote by mail by submitting applications in person through today, or by mail through Oct. 26.

Keene elections

Several Keene City Council seats go up for election next month, including the mayor’s seat.

In the mayor’s race, Councilman John Ackermann faces Louie Speyer Jr. The current mayor, Roy Robinson, did not file for reelection.

In the Ward II race, the incumbent, Councilman Robert Bischoff faces challenger Dale Janes.

Roger Ackermann and Jere Slough are running unopposed in the races for Ward I and Ward III respectively.

Early voting runs until Oct. 29 Monday through Friday. Voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except on Wednesday  and Oct. 27 when hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Early voting takes place at Keene City Hall at 100 N. Mockingbird St.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you