Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

November 5, 2013

Election Day polling locations, information

Today's election allows voters to weigh in on nine propositions including two that address property tax exemptions for veterans and the spouses of veterans who are killed in active duty.

Proposition 6 proposes the creation of a State Water Implementation Fund, which will be used to fund water projects throughout the state by providing low-interest loans and other forms of assistance to public entities. 

Other propositions address reverse mortgage loans, ad valorem taxes as they relate to aircraft parts, vacancies in the governing body of home-rule municipalities and expanding the sanctions that may be assesses against a judge or justice following a formal proceeding instituted by the State Commission on Judicial Conduct.


Election information

Voting precinct maps, a sample ballot and information on the nine proposed constitutional amendments are available at the Johnson County Elections Office website at

Voters also are reminded that a new state law is now in effect requiring voters to show photo ID when they cast ballots. 

The only acceptable photo IDs are a valid Texas driver’s license, a personal identification card issued by the state, a Texas concealed handgun license, an Election Identification Certificate, a U.S. passport, a military identification card or a citizenship certificate or naturalization certificate with a photograph. Student IDs are not accepted.

Individuals without another accepted form of photo ID can get a free Election Identification Certificate through any Texas Department of Public Safety office. Visit the Texas Secretary of State’s website for more information.

Election Day locations

Polls are open until 7 p.m.

The following is a list of polling locations:

• Precincts 1 and 32: Reece Prairie Baptist Church, 9705 CR 1016, Burleson.

• Precincts 2, 5 and 31: NorthPointe FBC of Joshua, 2450 S.W. Wilshire Blvd., Burleson.

• Precincts 3, 4 and 34: Johnson County Sub-Courthouse Burleson, 247 Elk Drive, Burleson.

• Precincts 6 and 15: Bono Baptist Church, 6349 Bono Road, Godley.

• Precincts 7 and 11: Bethesda Baptist Church, 100 W. Bethesda Road, Burleson.

• Precincts 8 and 35: Precinct 3 Maintenance Facility, 10420 FM 917, Alvarado.

• Precincts 9, 20 and 21: Eastern Heights Church, 1315 Grandview Highway, Cleburne.

• Precinct 10: Alvarado Senior Citizen’s Center, 201 E. College Ave., Alvarado.

• Precincts 12, 13 and 29: Joshua Baptist Church, 3231 S.W. Wilshire Blvd. Joshua.

• Precincts 14, 17 and 36: Cleburne Family Fellowship Church, 701 W. Kilpatrick Ave., Cleburne.

• Precincts 16, 18 and 19: St. Mark United Methodist Church, 1109 W. Henderson St., Cleburne.

• Precinct 22: Keene Senior Citizen’s Center, 207 E. First St., Keene.

• Precinct 23: Rio Vista Civic Center, 201 S. Texas 174, Rio Vista.

• Precincts 24 and 28: Buel Baptist Church, 4609 CR 317, Cleburne.

• Precinct 25: Venus Community Center, 210 Walnut St., Venus.

• Precincts 26 and 27: Grandview Church of Christ, 707 E. Criner St., Grandview.

• Precincts 30 and 33: First Baptist Church, 101 E. Allen St., Godley.


Keene elections

Keene has several city council and school board seats up for election on Nov. 5. They include:

Council Member Ward I, Place I

David Abrantes

Gilbert Perez


Council Member Ward II, Place I

Cheryl Schram


Council Member Ward III, Place I

Gerald Mauk

James Chapline


Keene ISD at-large seats

Incumbent Judy Miles 

Incumbent Mary Ann Hodges 

Incumbent Geri Montgomery 

Incumbent Sheri Hadley 

Robert Bischoff 

Donnie Beeson 

Edgardo Perez Sr. 

Patricia Miers 

Keene ISD also has a two-year term that was vacated when Carmen Curubo resigned. Gary Heinrich took her seat and is running for re-election. His opponents include Evamari Erazo and Michael Nightingale.