Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX


December 5, 2013

Crowley, Waco lead in all-district voting for 8-4A

Burleson QB Hall named offensive MVP

JOHNSON COUNTY — After winning the District 8-4A title for the second consecutive season, the Crowley Eagles led the way in all-district selections.

Crowley senior quarterback Matt Marner was voted as the district’s most valuable player while Crowley senior Markus Jones shared the defensive MVP honor with Waco senior Nika Davis.

Marner had 2,033 passing yards on a 56 completion percentage with 25 touchdowns and eight interceptions to go along with 104 carries for 810 yards and nine touchdowns.

Burleson senior quarterback Isaiah Hall received the district’s offensive MVP and Everman sophomore running back Kierre Crossley was named the district’s newcomer of the year.

“That’s a great honor,” Burleson Coach Gary McElroy said of Hall winning the offensive MVP. “He’s a good football player and a good kid. He was obviously a leader on our team, both in character and also a leader as far as production.  He did an outstanding job. I thought it was a well-deserved honor. Being in the district we’re in with the offensive players in our district, it’s a high honor. We’re pleased that we have a kid thought that highly of by our peers.”

The dual-threat Hall ended his season with 1,741 passing yards on a 62 completion percentage with 19 touchdowns and three interceptions to go along with 222 carries for 903 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns.

Crossley had 162 carries for 1,276 yards (7.9 yards per carry) and 19 touchdowns.

For the first-team offense, seven of the district’s eight teams were represented.

Cleburne sophomore Brian Baca was a unanimous selection as the first-team quarterback. Crowley senior Day’Lonzo Freeman and Everman senior Reggie Kincade were the first-team running backs. Burleson senior Austin Murrell, Cleburne senior Kameron Pickett, Waco senior Tyler Taylor (unanimous) and Crowley senior Tayvohn Glover round out the receiver selections.

Everman junior Kenneth Stafford was voted the first-team fullback and Centennial senior Curtis Amos took the tight end spot.

Comprising the first-team offensive line were Burleson senior Gerald Hatch (unanimous), Crowley junior Chase Foster, Waco junior Joseph Gonzales, Everman senior Rowdy Witt, Burleson senior Kelly Rhodes and Waco senior Jabrill Harden.

Burleson sophomore Preston Paden and University senior Jadarion Degrate received first-team recognition as utility players. Centennial senior Ron Reid was voted the first-team kicker.

The first-team defense was represented by six of the district’s eight teams.

At defensive end were Burleson junior Kenneth Mann, Crowley senior Xavier Luckey-Washington and Waco junior Roderick Harris. At defensive tackle were Cleburne junior Tevin Boone, Crowley junior Larance Shaw and Waco senior James Harper.

At inside linebacker were Waco senior O.C. Beasley and University senior Isaiah Thomas. At outside linebacker were Cleburne senior Cannon Martyniuk, Cleburne senior Taylor Bird, Crowley senior Kaylin Wilson and Waco junior Kylan Robinson.

At corner back were Burleson senior Rodney Nickerson, Crowley senior Tre Smith and Everman senior Emundre Taylor. At safety were Waco senior Daquinton Stewart (unanimous), Cleburne junior Reggie Robinson II and Everman junior Leonard Peele.

Everman senior Aroldo Cruz was voted as the first-team punter.

The all-district second-team offense was comprised of Joshua’ Garrett Hoffman, Waco’s Traynham Moore, Centennial’s Demarcus Williams, Crowley’s Jimmie Hughes, Cleburne’s Darion McCullough, Burleson’s Ayinde Alaajiy, Centennial’s Kevin Tezeno, Cleburne’s Robinson, Everman’s Chris Stafford, University’s Jordan Randolph, Burleson’s Jacob Lidgett, University’s Elijah Smith, Crowley’s Anthony Drayton, Centennial’s Colton Hostetler, Waco’s Jaquill Harden, Centennial’s Taner Nichols, Everman’s Zach Fusilier, Crowley’s D’Vonte Williams, Waco’s Dwight Worthy, Crowley’s Matthew Santos and Everman’s Cruz.

The all-district second-team defense was comprised of Burleson’s John Carter, Centennial’s T.C. Quintana, Cleburne’s Terrance Holmes, Waco’s Doug Canada, Centennial’s Nathan Walker, Crowley’s Miguel Sanchez, University’s Thomas Turner, Everman’s Darrell Parks, Cleburne’s Bre Miller, Crowley’s Xavier Rice, Joshua’s Kendrick Turner, University’s Quinton Trice, Centennial’s Hunter Donnelly, Crowley’s Anthony Strother, Waco’s K.D. Wells, Waco’s Marcellus Redmond, Everman’s Darrion Norris, Crowley’s Kenneth Coleman, Waco’s Anthony Loa and Waco’s Moore.

Check for the full all-district list, including all eight teams' honorable mention players.


Text Only
Front page
Front page
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide