Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX


April 15, 2014

Lady Spartans dominate 16-4A all-district soccer selections

BURLESON — The Burleson Centennial Lady Spartans dominated District 16-4A play en route to an undefeated district championship, and the Lady Spartans’ prowess was reflected in the all-district voting.

For the second consecutive season, Centennial’s Koryann Clark was voted the offensive MVP. It was also the third consecutive year Clark received all-district recognition after earning a first-team selection as a sophomore in the Lady Spartans’ first-ever season.

“Koryann has meant a lot to this program along with the other seniors we have graduating,” Centennial Coach Kara Cuellar said. “She help put our team on the map. People know who we are because of Koryann and the other seniors we have.

“Koryann is a hard-working young lady. Every year, she got better, and it was so much fun to watch her play and score goals. I don’t know if I will ever have another forward like her. She is going to be hard to replace. I am going to miss her a lot. She deserves the offense MVP of our district because she is the best forward in our district and every coach in our district would agree. When we had the meeting, this is the first award we did. Right away, the other coaches started nominating her. She, by far, had the most votes.”

Clark, who is the Lady Spartans’ all-time leading goal scorer, netted an impressive 33 goals in her senior season after scoring 17 goals last season and 22 goals two years ago. As a freshman on the Centennial junior varsity team, the school’s first year in existence, Clark was also the leading goal scorer with 19.

Cuellar received another superlative selection for the Lady Spartans with the coach of the year honor.

Garnering first-team selections for Centennial were seniors Ashley Ledford and Enfiniti Stephens, sophomore Hanna Mattinson and freshman Lindsey Beckrich.

Receiving second-team honors for the Lady Spartans were seniors Pat Lerma and Taylor Mauppin, junior Robin Blood and freshman Emilie Harvey.

Senior Bre Hazel and freshman Kinley Clark received honorable mention for Centennial.

Centennial, which finished the season with a 22-2-1 record, received the most votes in all-district voting.

“I think it shows that the other coaches really respect my players and my team when you see we have the most representation across the board,” Cuellar said. “The best girls should be voted for on all of these awards. It is all about the players and how they do throughout district play.”

The Lady Spartans advanced to the sectional round of Class 4A playoffs before falling to Fort Worth Arlington Heights, 2-0.

The Burleson Lady Elks were represented with a superlative selection as senior Jessie Clark shared the MVP midfielder award with Seguin junior Lauren Marquez.

Garnering first-team honors for the Lady Elks were sophomores Mariah Escalante and Stephanie Hotchkiss and senior Hayden Strube. Freshmen Amanda Wince, Madison Ezell and Hannah Werner received second-team recognition. And senior Paighton McNeely and freshman Elizabeth Hefley received honorable mention.

Rounding out the superlative selections for District 16-4A, Legacy senior Ravyn Gilbert was tabbed as the defensive MVP. Crowley senior Jolyn Noble was voted MVP utility player. Everman sophomore Trenadey Scott received the MVP forward and Summit senior Stephanie Crisafull was named the MVP defender. Legacy senior Casey McKean received the top goal keeper.

Text Only
Front page
Front page
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide