Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Opinion

Opinion
  • Don Newbury: Steering in the right direction

    A half-century ago, cigarette companies flew on the wings of advertising that blitzed the nation like June bugs in Mr. McGregor’s garden. Chesterfield took on Benson and Hedges, claiming its smokes were “a silly millimeter longer.” That meant 101 millimeters to B&H’s 100.

    October 11, 2013

  • Don Newbury: News from the zoo

    We should count our blessings daily that Noah herded animals onto the ark. They’ve gotten basically “good press” ever since, even as much of the world crumbles around them.

    October 4, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Best of times, worst of times in the Lone Star state

    Given that timing is everything, the Lone Star State’s flagship universities — The University of Texas and Texas A&M University — are once again at extremes. 

    September 27, 2013

  • Don Newbury: A little bit on children and ‘goose-Googling’

    Perhaps it is a trivial thing, this business of “Goose” and “Google” beginning with the same three letters — or maybe not.

    September 20, 2013

  • Don Newbury: NFL toughens ‘bag lady’ rules at games

    A generation ago, my wife proclaimed a small victory. “We can mark that one off,” she said. “I’ve just taken our youngest to the pediatrician’s office for the last time.”

    September 6, 2013

  • Don Newbury: For Junction schools, one coach gave her all

    There’s a delicious irony, really, that two Junction, Texas, historic vignettes bear similarities, despite separation by some six decades. Linked are unprecedented events tying football and Texas A&M University to this Hill Country community of some 2,500 folks.

    August 30, 2013

  • Don Newbury: I have half a mind to ... I forget

    Repeated ads help us remember that the mind is a terrible thing to waste. They are handy to have around, though, if only for misplacing, blaming, changing and/or wandering.

    August 23, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Mort ignores birthday 101

    My memories of Uncle Mort go all the way back to the onset of World War II — that’s when my recall served instead of going AWOL like today.

    August 9, 2013

  • Canada’s Québec City links old and new

    “I really miss the seasons.” That’s a lament commonly heard from folks transplanted here who failed to get the memo that Mother Nature’s hop-scotch across Texas’ weather map is guaranteed — often daily. She chuckles at the mention of seasons in the Lone Star State.

    August 2, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Oh, Canada: reminiscing about a vacation trip

    If “getting there is half the fun,” our recent Canada-New England cruise from Quebec City to Boston defies the long-held belief that two halves make a whole. With multiple highlights on board equaling or surpassing the “getting there,” there were several “halves!”

    July 19, 2013

Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide