Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Opinion

Opinion
  • Don Newbury: Don’t sell dogs short; most are family members

    Dog-fanciers, present company included, have only themselves to blame. Our pets didn’t ask to become family members. However, we have freely elevated them to such status, and they’ve accepted our invitation, happy to partake of courtesies consistent with favored treatment.

    November 8, 2013

  • Don Newbury: With a song in her heart

    Composer George Gershwin and Stephenville elementary school music teacher Virginia Bond would likely have agreed on much.

    November 1, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Let’s make this perfectly clear

    If somehow Socrates were restored to life for just one day, it could be one of the worst of all Greek tragedies. Optimists, however, might believe his visit could nudge us toward a new day of reason. 

    October 25, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Steering in the right direction

    A half-century ago, cigarette companies flew on the wings of advertising that blitzed the nation like June bugs in Mr. McGregor’s garden. Chesterfield took on Benson and Hedges, claiming its smokes were “a silly millimeter longer.” That meant 101 millimeters to B&H’s 100.

    October 11, 2013

  • Don Newbury: News from the zoo

    We should count our blessings daily that Noah herded animals onto the ark. They’ve gotten basically “good press” ever since, even as much of the world crumbles around them.

    October 4, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Best of times, worst of times in the Lone Star state

    Given that timing is everything, the Lone Star State’s flagship universities — The University of Texas and Texas A&M University — are once again at extremes. 

    September 27, 2013

  • Don Newbury: A little bit on children and ‘goose-Googling’

    Perhaps it is a trivial thing, this business of “Goose” and “Google” beginning with the same three letters — or maybe not.

    September 20, 2013

  • Don Newbury: NFL toughens ‘bag lady’ rules at games

    A generation ago, my wife proclaimed a small victory. “We can mark that one off,” she said. “I’ve just taken our youngest to the pediatrician’s office for the last time.”

    September 6, 2013

  • Don Newbury: For Junction schools, one coach gave her all

    There’s a delicious irony, really, that two Junction, Texas, historic vignettes bear similarities, despite separation by some six decades. Linked are unprecedented events tying football and Texas A&M University to this Hill Country community of some 2,500 folks.

    August 30, 2013

  • Don Newbury: I have half a mind to ... I forget

    Repeated ads help us remember that the mind is a terrible thing to waste. They are handy to have around, though, if only for misplacing, blaming, changing and/or wandering.

    August 23, 2013

Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter