Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Opinion

July 13, 2012

Don Newbury: Uncle Mort reaches the century mark in life

 

Properly planted and girded by embellished half-truths, rumors race across a community faster than the truth on roller skates. When a rumor-starting pro like my Uncle Mort sets ’em up, they move still faster, swelling and swirling with tornadic force.

Take Mort’s 100th birthday extravaganza on July 4 in the thicket as Exhibit A. It was at the core of community conversations for at least two months — just as he’d planned. He “set the table” for the magical event — his way.

Would there be aerial fly-overs? Would Elvis show up? Did guests really need to bring pockets full of silver dollars? Would the lights for TV cameras light up the skies? 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Don Newbury: Flappables twisting in the wind

    One can determine much about a man by observation, taking note of the way he dresses and carries himself.

    March 14, 2014

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif United States: A nation big on words

    We Americans are a wordy bunch, particularly after election to public office.

     

    January 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif On matters of disagreement

    A dozen people — maybe more — have laid claim to the admonition we’ve all heard many times. For all I know, it may have first been stated by Emily Post, Amy Vanderbilt, Miss Manners or Little Miss Muffett. Anyway, it is well-worn: “We can disagree without being disagreeable.”

    January 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif New thoughts from an old guy

    I’m guessing my Uncle Mort’s forward thinking for the new year more likely is akin to slumgullion stew, or simply a hodge-podge of thoughts he’s carried forward to the new year.

    January 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury Social media’s Christmas miracle?

    Likelihood is great that airlines of the world — most of them maligned by flustered flyers venting their feelings when flights go awry — owe much gratitude to a single member of their flock.

    December 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif Bypassing the friendly skies for a road trip

    For the longest time, Americans by the millions were pampered and charmed by airlines in general. One ad urged us to “fly the friendly skies.” And we did, with pleasure.

    December 20, 2013 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury: The courage of his conviction

    Our citizens, in general, wait — too patiently, too quietly — for a big dose of indignation.

    November 15, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Don’t sell dogs short; most are family members

    Dog-fanciers, present company included, have only themselves to blame. Our pets didn’t ask to become family members. However, we have freely elevated them to such status, and they’ve accepted our invitation, happy to partake of courtesies consistent with favored treatment.

    November 8, 2013

  • Don Newbury: With a song in her heart

    Composer George Gershwin and Stephenville elementary school music teacher Virginia Bond would likely have agreed on much.

    November 1, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Let’s make this perfectly clear

    If somehow Socrates were restored to life for just one day, it could be one of the worst of all Greek tragedies. Optimists, however, might believe his visit could nudge us toward a new day of reason. 

    October 25, 2013

Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide