Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Opinion

November 23, 2012

Don Newbury: Old friend from the ’60s is one of a kind

 

At Thanksgiving time, thoughts turn to friendships. They come like gentle waves kissing parched beaches, each of them welcome.

It is a season to value friendships, particularly when death takes a friend away.

Such are my memories — sweet as the aroma of holiday foods — of Ann Garms, who died recently at age 95.

———

Life was not a gallop for her. Instead, she maintained a steady gait, focused on an exceedingly small universe.

It included Brownwood First Baptist Church, Howard Payne University, line dancing, “pink lady” hospital volunteer work and frequent phone conversations with Cleta Garms, her Andrews, Texas, sister-in-law.  She never flew on a plane and rarely left Brown County.

Many would conclude that her life was simple and monotonous. And they would be wrong.

———

We first met soon after I finished college in the early ’60s. She prepared the papers for my car purchase at Weatherby Motor Company, where she worked for 35 years.

I noticed her quick smile then, and easily recognized her upon my return as HPU president in 1985. I knew she was a friend of the university, and often delivered bags of popcorn to her home, where she always provided a gracious reception. She invariably placed the gift in her little pantry. (Some 27 tons of corn and 40 years ago, popcorn became my “calling card.”)

———

Ann enjoyed university events, although was never an HPU student. Her only formal education was at an Abilene business college.

However, she was “Ph.D. wise” — no, more than that. Her life was well-ordered with much wisdom. This widow of 34 years was fulfilled, optimistic and active throughout life.

She ate sensibly, exercised and rarely needed medication. The only medicine she had in her home was aspirin. Ann was hospitalized just twice in her life, both times briefly.

———

She happily set her own pace in a hurrying world and was easily the most frugal person I’ve ever known. But, I can count on one hand’s fingers individuals whom I believe equal her generosity.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Don Newbury: Observations, thoughts and scatter shots

    Like a Mother Hubbard dress, the column is covering everything and touching nothing.

    June 27, 2014

  • Don Newbury: Two thumbs up for cruising from teens

    The dots could have been connected quickly by a 2-year-old during the few weeks or months between pacifier-sucking and iPhone text messaging. Predictably, my mental connection of the dots stretched over a few hours.

    May 23, 2014

  • Don Newbury: Most is ‘right’ with the world

    It was a source of amusement — for folks outside my family, anyway — when my 27 fellow seniors honored me during our final year at Early High School in 1956. I was elected — unanimously, I might add — most likely to remain left-handed.

    May 16, 2014

  • Don Newbury: Flappables twisting in the wind

    One can determine much about a man by observation, taking note of the way he dresses and carries himself.

    March 14, 2014

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif United States: A nation big on words

    We Americans are a wordy bunch, particularly after election to public office.

     

    January 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif On matters of disagreement

    A dozen people — maybe more — have laid claim to the admonition we’ve all heard many times. For all I know, it may have first been stated by Emily Post, Amy Vanderbilt, Miss Manners or Little Miss Muffett. Anyway, it is well-worn: “We can disagree without being disagreeable.”

    January 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif New thoughts from an old guy

    I’m guessing my Uncle Mort’s forward thinking for the new year more likely is akin to slumgullion stew, or simply a hodge-podge of thoughts he’s carried forward to the new year.

    January 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury Social media’s Christmas miracle?

    Likelihood is great that airlines of the world — most of them maligned by flustered flyers venting their feelings when flights go awry — owe much gratitude to a single member of their flock.

    December 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif Bypassing the friendly skies for a road trip

    For the longest time, Americans by the millions were pampered and charmed by airlines in general. One ad urged us to “fly the friendly skies.” And we did, with pleasure.

    December 20, 2013 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury: The courage of his conviction

    Our citizens, in general, wait — too patiently, too quietly — for a big dose of indignation.

    November 15, 2013

Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter