Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Opinion

August 17, 2012

Don Newbury: Where eyes still widen: visiting New Orleans

 

Back in the 1930s, a Lions Club — two hours by train from Dallas — faced a dwindling membership, largely because one of its members was so obsessed with “Big D” that he spoke of little else. Lions grew weary of his ramblings.

Upon learning that the old geezer had never even been 50 miles from home — let alone to Dallas — the Lions decided to pass the plate. They collected enough money to send him on the train to Dallas for a week. Maybe this would either shut him up — or at least provide a slide show in case of a last-minute program cancellation.

———

“How was Dallas?” a member asked. “Don’t know,” the man answered, “I didn’t see it.” 

“Didn’t see it? We sent you up there for a week,” the questioner fumed.

“I know it, but there was just so danged much happening around the depot.”

———

My wife and I hold similar awe for New Orleans, one of the unique cities of the world. It lays claim to all of our senses, defying description, no matter how rambling. Words and pictures provide faint justice.

It is a city that must be seen, heard and felt up close. If New York is a city that never sleeps, New Orleans might be described similarly, albeit dozing from time to time, but always with an eye open. It is a city of toes tapping, jazz bands playing, chefs honing recipes and much, much more.

Ah, the food. There are world-class restaurants in a city where average eateries don’t last long. “The aroma brings us in and the dining brings us back,” one visitor said.

———

One can gather brochures and visit points of interest for weeks, or merely “let life happen” as we did during a recent three-day visit.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Don Newbury: Flappables twisting in the wind

    One can determine much about a man by observation, taking note of the way he dresses and carries himself.

    March 14, 2014

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif United States: A nation big on words

    We Americans are a wordy bunch, particularly after election to public office.

     

    January 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif On matters of disagreement

    A dozen people — maybe more — have laid claim to the admonition we’ve all heard many times. For all I know, it may have first been stated by Emily Post, Amy Vanderbilt, Miss Manners or Little Miss Muffett. Anyway, it is well-worn: “We can disagree without being disagreeable.”

    January 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif New thoughts from an old guy

    I’m guessing my Uncle Mort’s forward thinking for the new year more likely is akin to slumgullion stew, or simply a hodge-podge of thoughts he’s carried forward to the new year.

    January 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury Social media’s Christmas miracle?

    Likelihood is great that airlines of the world — most of them maligned by flustered flyers venting their feelings when flights go awry — owe much gratitude to a single member of their flock.

    December 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif Bypassing the friendly skies for a road trip

    For the longest time, Americans by the millions were pampered and charmed by airlines in general. One ad urged us to “fly the friendly skies.” And we did, with pleasure.

    December 20, 2013 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury: The courage of his conviction

    Our citizens, in general, wait — too patiently, too quietly — for a big dose of indignation.

    November 15, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Don’t sell dogs short; most are family members

    Dog-fanciers, present company included, have only themselves to blame. Our pets didn’t ask to become family members. However, we have freely elevated them to such status, and they’ve accepted our invitation, happy to partake of courtesies consistent with favored treatment.

    November 8, 2013

  • Don Newbury: With a song in her heart

    Composer George Gershwin and Stephenville elementary school music teacher Virginia Bond would likely have agreed on much.

    November 1, 2013

  • Don Newbury: Let’s make this perfectly clear

    If somehow Socrates were restored to life for just one day, it could be one of the worst of all Greek tragedies. Optimists, however, might believe his visit could nudge us toward a new day of reason. 

    October 25, 2013

Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide