Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Opinion

September 7, 2012

Don Newbury: Thoughts on driving a hard(ly) bargain

 

When one schedules multiple speaking engagements in a brief time span, travel plans must be executed with precision. Otherwise, one may weep, gnash teeth, become ill and question much — including, “Why me, Lord?”

It is important at such times to remember: No one has to be anywhere.

There is wisdom in knowing when to run. If one is running to catch a train, not to worry, there’ll be another one. If, however, one is running to get out of the way of a train, run like the devil.

———

My friend, Jim Bob Solsbery, goes around committing speeches on a fulltime basis. He made a dozen or so in August to help educators kick off the new school year.

 

For the rest of this story and other local news, subscribe to the Times-Review's e-edition by clicking here or print edition by clicking here. For a mobile user guide, click here.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Don Newbury: Observations, thoughts and scatter shots

    Like a Mother Hubbard dress, the column is covering everything and touching nothing.

    June 27, 2014

  • Don Newbury: Two thumbs up for cruising from teens

    The dots could have been connected quickly by a 2-year-old during the few weeks or months between pacifier-sucking and iPhone text messaging. Predictably, my mental connection of the dots stretched over a few hours.

    May 23, 2014

  • Don Newbury: Most is ‘right’ with the world

    It was a source of amusement — for folks outside my family, anyway — when my 27 fellow seniors honored me during our final year at Early High School in 1956. I was elected — unanimously, I might add — most likely to remain left-handed.

    May 16, 2014

  • Don Newbury: Flappables twisting in the wind

    One can determine much about a man by observation, taking note of the way he dresses and carries himself.

    March 14, 2014

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif United States: A nation big on words

    We Americans are a wordy bunch, particularly after election to public office.

     

    January 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif On matters of disagreement

    A dozen people — maybe more — have laid claim to the admonition we’ve all heard many times. For all I know, it may have first been stated by Emily Post, Amy Vanderbilt, Miss Manners or Little Miss Muffett. Anyway, it is well-worn: “We can disagree without being disagreeable.”

    January 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif New thoughts from an old guy

    I’m guessing my Uncle Mort’s forward thinking for the new year more likely is akin to slumgullion stew, or simply a hodge-podge of thoughts he’s carried forward to the new year.

    January 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury Social media’s Christmas miracle?

    Likelihood is great that airlines of the world — most of them maligned by flustered flyers venting their feelings when flights go awry — owe much gratitude to a single member of their flock.

    December 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • New Newbury-Don color.tif Bypassing the friendly skies for a road trip

    For the longest time, Americans by the millions were pampered and charmed by airlines in general. One ad urged us to “fly the friendly skies.” And we did, with pleasure.

    December 20, 2013 1 Photo

  • Don Newbury: The courage of his conviction

    Our citizens, in general, wait — too patiently, too quietly — for a big dose of indignation.

    November 15, 2013

Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter