Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Local News

January 3, 2013

7 resolutions for saving money in 2013

Over the past year, we've discussed what to buy and how to save. Fifty-two columns later, we can safely boil spending and saving secrets down to one simple strategy: Have a plan. For retirement. For dream vacations. Even for the grocery store.

Smart spending and saving only happens when you're alert. And whether you're living paycheck to paycheck or managing an eight-figure investment portfolio, we're all saving, investing and hunting for bargains so we can spend later. Even those who can afford to be lazy with their finances usually aren't.

This year, we've examined the importance of haggling, the need to invest, the price of gold and how to splurge wisely. We've saved money on international vacations, cosmetic procedures, energy audits and, yes, even funerals.

In planning for a new year of savings, there are certain things you should and, frankly, must do if you want to save money in 2013. Here are our best tips for saving in the new year.

— Cancel unused annuals now

How many weekly magazines do you read cover to cover? If you're going to the gym once a month, wouldn't you rather walk to the movie theater and spend that money there? We have great intentions for the new year: to read more, to run more, to eat better foods. But good intentions sometimes hurt our spending resolutions. If you didn't use the gym in 2012, you probably won't use it next year. If you don't have time to read the New Yorker now, trust us, it will make you feel guilty if you see it on the kitchen counter. Cancel all of it now. Reinstate it when you've proved to yourself that it's a genuine part of your life.

Text Only
Local News
  • IMG_1770.JPG Cleburne debt rating improves from A+ to AA

    Standard & Poor’s Rating Services on March 31 raised its rating of Cleburne’s general obligation debt two notches, from A+ to AA, officials announced at Tuesday’s Cleburne City Council meeting.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Keene ISD hires baseball and softball coaches

    The Keene ISD superintendent said the new baseball and softball coach will fit “perfectly” into the family atmosphere in the district.

    April 24, 2014

  • _MG_1067.JPG A family tradition

    A box containing custom-made reins addressed to a woman in Placerville, Calif., sits on the counter just inside the door at McDaniel Custom Saddle. Ron McDaniel stands behind the counter, packing three custom-made leather knife sheaths that are headed to Pennsylvania.

    April 23, 2014 3 Photos

  • The top 12 government programs ever

    Which federal programs and policies succeed in being cost-effective and targeting those who need them most? These two tests are obvious: After all, why would we spend taxpayers' money on a program that isn't worth what it costs or helps those who do not need help?

    April 23, 2014

  • IMG_1639.JPG Two downtown buildings deemed unsafe

    Cleburne Building and Standards Commission members ordered fencing placed around two adjoining downtown buildings by Saturday for public safety reasons during their April 16 meeting.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • lanyards.jpg Adams students become entrepreneurs

    A group of Adams Elementary School fourth-graders have taken on the role of entrepreneurs in an effort to raise funds for their annual trip to YMCA Camp Grady Spruce.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Driver bugs out; woman sweeps her way into jail

    The culprit of a Monday single-vehicle accident was long gone by the time Cleburne police and firefighters arrived on scene. Rescue workers responded at 9:50 p.m. to the 2200 block of North Main to find a Chevrolet Silverado with heavy front end and undercarriage damage.

    April 23, 2014

  • RVISD assigned TEA monitor

    When the Texas Education Agency assigned Bobby Parker of Waxahachie to monitor Rio Vista ISD, his first job was to potentially shut the struggling district down.

    April 23, 2014

  • IMG_6898.JPG Fuel check

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • ESD paramedic delivers baby on the side of the road

    Lt. Donny Hallmark has been a paramedic for about 10 years, and he’s seen more than one baby being born. But Tuesday morning was a first for the Johnson County Emergency Services District No. 1 firefighter when he helped deliver a baby by himself — in a car on the side of the road.

    April 22, 2014

Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter