Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Johnson County

December 8, 2011

Commissioner’s race filling up

Field of candidates reaches 4 in Precinct 1

Johnson County Precinct 1 Commissioner Rick Bailey continues to attract competition in his re-election bid. Three candidates — all Republican, as is Bailey — have filed so far with possibly more to come.

Two Republicans also filed for the Precinct 2 commissioner special election.

Meanwhile, the Precinct 3 race — Commissioner Jerry Stringer filed for re-election last week — sits unopposed.

Candidates have until Dec. 15 to file for the November elections.

In the Precinct 1 race, Bailey will face challengers Derek George, William Ward and Dennis Price in the Republican primary.

Kenny Howell and Kirk Carrell have both filed to compete in the Precinct 2 race.

Commissioners serve four year terms.

Precinct 2 counts as a special election in 2012 given that the seat would not otherwise have been up for election until 2014. Former Commissioner John Matthews won re-election to the seat in 2010, but resigned earlier this year. County Judge Roger Harmon appointed Troy Thompson to the seat after Matthews’ resignation. Thompson also previously served as a commissioner, albeit for Precinct 4.

Thompson has several times said that he has no intention of seeking re-election.

The winning Precinct 2 candidate in November will serve two years then face re-election in 2014, which keeps the seat on its proper election cycle.

The county treasurer’s office, also a four-year term, represents a special election next November as well. Barbara Robinson won re-election to the office in 2010, but later stepped down for health reasons. The commissioners court appointed Debbie Rice to fill Robinson’s unexpired term. Rice has since filed for re-election next year. Rice, or whomever wins the election, will have to run again in 2014 to keep that seat on its proper election cycle. Rice remains  unopposed in her re-election bid.

The only other local race contested is the Johnson County Constable Precinct 2 election. Constable Adam Crawford filed for re-election. He faces challenger George Reynolds in the Republican primary.

Chuck Hooper filed for the Constable Precinct 1 race on Tuesday. Precinct 1 Constable Bill Pearce has not filed for re-election.

Precinct 3 and Precinct 4 constables Mark White and Gary Braly both filed for re-election in their respective races.

Text Only
Johnson County
Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter