Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX


December 18, 2012

Indians place 14 on all-district teams

CLEBURNE — Despite finishing third in District 7-3A, a district that is home to the 2012 state champion in Stephenville, Alvarado had 14 players represent the Indians in all-district selections this season.

“Anytime your kids get honored by other coaches, I think it’s pretty special,” Alvarado Coach Jeff Dixon said. “Other coaches in our district voted on them and we didn’t win district, and didn’t even finish second in district, and to have 14 young men honored when you finish third in district is a good thing. I’m proud of our kids and I obviously think it’s well deserved.”

Senior offensive lineman Rowdy Goff, who played center for the Indians and was the leader up front, received all-district first-team recognition on offense, along with senior receiver Jared McCarver and junior guard Andrew Sevener.

“For Rowdy, this was his third year to start for us and he’s such a leader on our offensive line,” Dixon said. “We’re going to miss him. To be undersized and still be recognized as a first-team guy is deserving. He outworks about anybody out there. I’m very proud of Rowdy.”

While most teams are employing a spread offense and throwing the ball up to 40 times per game, Alvarado continues to stick with a strong running game, so the passing and receiving numbers aren’t as gaudy as other teams, but that didn’t keep McCarver from earning first-team honors as he led the Indians in all receiving categories.

“Jared was kind of a surprise, not on my end, but for the teams in our district, especially those that run a spread offense and have four or five receivers and put up big stats,” Dixon said. “We dont’ throw much, so to have a young man recognized as one of the best in the district is certainly well deserved. I’m glad those coaches saw Jared for his ability, so very excited about that on him.

“Andrew is a guy who’s returning for us. We’re hoping he takes over where Rowdy left off. Next year will be his third year to start for us. He has a strong work ethic and he’s a good ball player.”

The Indians placed six players on the all-district second-team for offense — senior quarterback Kenny West, senior running back Lee Hardy, senior fullback Hayden Walraven, senior tight end Jake Geeo and senior offensive lineman Ruben Camperos, along with senior Marcus McNeil, who did a little bit of everything for the Indians.

The Indians had four players selected to the first-team defense, led by McNeil at safety, junior defensive tackle Brazos Fuller, junior defensive end Marshall Weatherby and senior linebacker Marcus Villarreal.

“We’re going to miss those Marcus V and Marcus McNeil,” Dixon said. “Marcus V had anywhere from 12 to 16 tackles a ball game. He’s undersized ... but how can you not recognize him when he’s making the plays that he made? Same with Marcus McNeil. He’s not just recognized defensively but offensively. The other two young men, Brazos and Marshall will be back next year and anchor our D-line. I think we’ll have a chance to have a special front seven next year under their leadership.”

Junior linebacker Brian Dexter received second-team recognition for defense. Safety Dylan Hudson, offensive lineman Cyle Johnson and tight end Michael Vanderhoff all received honorable mention.

“This is two years in a row now that we’ll graduate some pretty good talent,” Dixon said. “But great programs have young kids step up. We had quite a few young kids recognized as well, so you’ve got to feel good about what’s coming. Obviously we’re going to miss those seniors who we’ve won a lot of ball games with. A lot of them contributed since they were sophomores. We’ll miss them but we’ll continue to move forward and we have some good young players to step in to their position.”

Dixon said they are taking a field trip to Cowboys Stadium in Arlington on Friday.

“We want to get back there [to play in the state title],” Dixon said. “And going there and seeing it again will help get us back there.”

The superlative winners in District 7-3A were dominated by Stephenville and Glen Rose.

The most valuable player of the district went to Stephenville senior quarterback Tyler Jones, who accounted for nine touchdowns in the Yellow Jackets’ 70-35 win over El Campo in the Class 3A state title game on Friday. Glen Rose senior running back Cody Burtscher won the offensive player of the year, Stephenville senior defensive end Chase Varnado won the defensive player of the year, Stephenville sophomore receiver and corner back Jarrett Stidham was voted as the newcomer of the year and Glen Rose senior defensive end Jared Thames was voted the best lineman of the year.

The coach of the year went to the Stephenville coaching staff.


Text Only
Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter