Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX


December 3, 2012

Jackets well represented in all-district football awards

CLEBURNE — Results for District 8-4A football superlatives, first- and second-teams and honorable mention selections were recently released and the Cleburne Yellow Jackets had an impressive 24 selections.

“I thought we were represented very well,” Cleburne Coach Jeff Merket said. “It’s a very competitive district. There are lots of great athletes and football players. For the coaches to recognize our kids the way they did ... it’s a tribute to our season. It reflects the way we played all year and I think the awards are greatly deserved.”

The Jackets had one of their best seasons in recent history as they won seven games and qualified for the postseason for the first time in a decade. And their successful season is shown in the district rewards, including two superlatives — MVP and newcomer.

Senior quarterback Quade Coward received the coveted district most valuable player, and Merket said Coward was deserving.

“That’s quite an honor,” Merket said. “This is all voted on by the district coaches. There’s great players in our district and to be selected MVP is a huge honor for Quade. It just shows how much respect all the coaches had for the way he played the game.”

Coward finished the season with 3,250 passing yards on a 60.3 completion percentage with 35 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He also had 598 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns.

Defensive tackle Tevin Boone was voted as the district’s newcomer of the year as the sophomore recorded 75 total tackles (nine for loss), three sacks, 18 quarterback pressures, one interception and two fumble recoveries. Boone was a force up front for the Cleburne defense and only got stronger as the season went on.

“That’s also a huge honor for Tevin,” Merket said. “Being a defensive lineman, they don’t get a lot of recognition. But the district coaches saw the impact he had even as a sophomore. We’re really proud for Tevin and his award.”

The Jackets also had two players receive all-district first team honors in receivers junior Kameron Pickett and senior Khalil Hall.

Pickett had 47 receptions for 839 yards and 12 touchdowns while Hall had 44 receptions for 668 yards and seven touchdowns. Hall also scored one touchdown rushing.

Two more Jacket receivers garnered recognition as senior Tucker Nolen and junior Al Baylor were voted to the second team. Nolen had 32 catches for 619 yards and six touchdowns while Baylor had 22 catches for 500 yards and five touchdowns.

“They did a great job for us and it’s well deserving,” Merket said. “We had four quality receivers and there’s no way the district’s going to pick all four of our guys to be first team — two made first and two made second. It could have been any of those guys making first team. With Khalil and Kameron both missing a game [due to injury], it’s quite an honor for those guys to be selected by the coaches.”

Senior running back Kibo Grant was voted to the second-team offense while offensive linemen Tory Endtricht, Eduardo Cassio and Will House joined him.

Defensively, senior lineman Tanner Galvin received first-team honors for Cleburne, while Nolen (linebacker), Hall (corner back), senior Jordan Ebbens (defensive end), junior Brezuan Miller (linebacker), junior Taylor Bird (linebacker), junior Kendall Nettick (safety) made the second team.

“It’s a tribute to how hard our kids played,” Merket said of the defensive selections. “We had so many injuries and had so many guys to fill in and move to different positions. That’s one reason we didn’t have a lot on the first team is because we didn’t have a lot of guys play in a lot of games. For those guys to be recognized after all the adversity they faced, it’s a tribute to their work ethic and how hard they played the game.”

Galvin, Hunter Hicks and Dede Pollard all received honorable mention on offense and Hosbaldo Ruiz, Baylor, Pickett and Cannon Martyniuk received honorable mention on defense.

Crowley senior running back Larry Cheeks was voted as the district’s offensive MVP while Crowley senior safety Kyron Minter was voted as the defensive MVP.

Centennial junior running back DeMarcus Williams, Centennial junior tight end Curtis Amos and Centennial senior receiver Doug Hopkins were voted to the all-district offense first team.

Centennial senior quarterback Tanner Hodges, Joshua junior quarterback Garrett Hoffman, Centennial junior receiver Kevin Tezeno, Centennial junior guard Ivan Garcinduenas and Joshua junior kicker Beni Rios were voted to the all-district offense second team.

Along with Galvin, Joshua senior corner back Jake Mears was the lone Johnson County representative on the all-district defense first team.

Joshua senior defensive tackle Caleb Riley and Centennial senior safety Shawn Brown made the all-district defense second team.

Joshua’s Colin Radford, Devon Scoggins, Derek Adkins, Joe Shaw, Cruz Marquez, Centennial’s Jorge Barraza, Paxton Gilbert, Bobby Nolen, Ron Reid, Colton Hostetler, Burleson’s Austin Crawford, Kelley Rhodes, Austin Murrell, Isaiah Hall, Landen Whitlock and B.J. Mays all received honorable mention on offense.

Joshua’s Austin Barne, Scoggins, K.J. Evans, David Rodriguez, Chance Morris, Centennial’s Laurence Cisneros, Jared Cervera, T.C. Quintana, Danny Baverersen, Burleson’s Blaine McRay, Caleb Dechert, Mitchell McDowell and Taylor Bissell all garnered honorable mention recognition on defense.

Text Only
Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter