Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Farm and Ranch

February 16, 2012

Pruning roses before possible March freezes

 

Roses are usually pruned in our area around Valentine’s Day, several weeks before they begin their spring burst of growth. We are probably ready to get outside after the winter weather. And as you will read roses are tough and should be just fine even if we have more freezing during the month of March.

Pruning a rose bush can be pretty intimidating to the beginning gardener. I easily recall when it made me nervous to just think about pruning a modest bush rose. Start by dressing for the job. Please, wear a heavy denim shirt or something similar that will not tear easily and will protect your arms. Leather gloves are also necessary.

Good, sharp, by-pass (scissor-cut) hand shears and a small pruning saw are the tools needed for rose pruning. If you have some of the KnockOut Roses, you may want an electric hedge trimmer for those. A large drop cloth to collect clippings is also very handy. I buy cheap plastic table cloths, just for that job. It makes it so much easier to get the trimmings into the trash or a compost pile.

Climbing roses are pruned after their big flush of blooms in the spring. At that time, remove dead wood, diseased wood and any limbs that are straying where you don’t want them. You may stop there. Some years, remove an old cane by sawing it at the base. You may also choose to cut some side shoots back to 3 to 6 inches.

Climbing roses don’t require very much pruning. If you must prune a lot, perhaps your climbing rose needs a larger location. You may move it when it is dormant, next winter. Some climbing roses need a very sturdy support, as in heavy beams.

Bush roses may be cut back to 18 to 24 inches in height. That sounds like a lot, but they will reward you with beautiful growth and lots of blooms. First remove dead and diseased wood, cutting at a slant 1 inch below the damaged area. Remove spindly, weak shoots and any branch that rubs another. If some canes are old, remove one or two each year, cutting back to the root graft. Now, cut back the remaining canes by half, making 45 degree angle cuts, above an outer facing bud. This helps to open the interior of the rose bush, allowing more air circulation. Be careful to not leave a stub above the bud or to cut too close to the bud.

Text Only
Farm and Ranch
  • How and when to divide daffodils

    Blooming daffodils on my property are the much anticipated sign that spring has arrived. Every year I plant hundreds of daffodils and when they bloom my first thought always is, why didn’t I plant more? 

    April 17, 2014

  • Scammers targeting elderly, woman says

    When Berta Rhodes got a phone call from someone claiming to be her grandson last week, telling her he had been arrested in Mexico and needed her and her husband to wire him money to get home, she was scared.

    March 13, 2014

  • New peach trees available at JCMG plant sale

    Texas A&M’s Department of Horticultural Sciences has developed exceptional new varieties of peaches for Texas gardeners. The trees have been under development since the mid-1990s and have been tested in orchards around the state. 

    March 13, 2014

  • Bare root roses and how to plant

    It was a typical Saturday morning. I was at the computer doing my homework for college and listening to the different garden experts on line.

    January 30, 2014

  • Seminar on cattle set for Jan. 21

    There is no question that the beef cattle business has undergone some trying times the past few years. Significant changes within the beef industry, combined with increased production costs, drought and national and world economic woes have affected the entire beef production chain.  It is now more important than ever to stay current and up-to-date on new technologies and practices.

    January 8, 2014

  • Helpful tips to avoid winter plant damage

    With the icy spell we recently experienced and the low temperatures we are having almost every week it is quite evident that various plants did or will suffer some damage. If you look more closely at your trees, shrubs and flowering plants you can see burnt and curling leaves on some of them. 

    January 8, 2014

  • Livestock show a great experience

    While most students across Johnson County are finishing up their Christmas break and trying to get in some last-minute fun before heading back to school next week, Johnson County 4-H members are at home spending hours perfecting their animals and projects for the upcoming Johnson County Junior Livestock Show and Youth Fair.  

    January 3, 2014

  • A few New Year’s resolutions for your yard

    Have you made those pesky resolutions yet? Do you need a few so your yard will be at its best? A good gardener uses this cold down time to review and dream. And to be sure your dreams come true it takes some planning or resolutions.

    December 31, 2013

  • Wreaths are old traditions

    Wreaths are traditional, not only for Christmas decorating, but over the centuries for many other indications and celebrations. They were called diadems, meaning a thing bound around. Early ones were worn by royalty and were bands of fabric worn on royal bonnets. 

    December 24, 2013

  • Christmas poinsettias are a tradition

    Known as Euphorbia pulcherrima, Cuetlaxochityl, Mexican Flame Leaf, Christmas Star, Winter Rose, Noche Buena, Crown of the Andes, Lalapatae, Flower of Ataturk, Awaturrame, Pasqua or Stella de Natale and perhaps a few other names depending on its location in the world, the poinsettias was a native of Mexico and Central America before its spread over parts of the globe. 

    December 19, 2013

Latest CTR Videos
Front page
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide