Cleburne Times-Review, Cleburne, TX

Farm and Ranch

February 9, 2012

Stop weeds in your garden before they start

 

Gardening in Texas is always an adventure. The weather can be wreak havoc on our efforts to have a lovely lawn and garden. The heat and drought of last summer stressed or even killed many North Texas lawns, making them especially vulnerable to a prolific invasion of weeds this spring. 

Even when the weather is constantly changing, one thing that remains constant is that weeds will grow where you least desire them. Nature abhors a vacuum and if there is bare ground with access to sun and water, weeds will sprout.

What is a person to do? Thank goodness a timely application of a preemergent herbicide product can prevent weeds before they start. Unfortunately there is no set date to apply these products. Most products recommend early spring or “before the germination of target weeds” and again in early fall. 

Boy I wish I had a crystal ball so I would know exactly when weeds were going to sprout. A good rule of thumb to follow in spring is to apply when the crocus bulbs begin to bloom or when the yellow forsythia blooms begin to fall. 

Of course these events are dependent on the weather so it is important to pay attention to what is going on outside. It will be necessary to apply earlier than normal this year due to our mild winter and unseasonable warm January temperatures. A good target for this spring’s application would be the first two weeks of February. 

There are two basic categories of weeds, grassy weeds which includes crabgrass and Johnson grass and stickers or grass burs just to name a few and broadleaf weeds which includes dandelion, henbit, chickweed and clover and many others. Preemergent products also come in two different versions, one designed to work on primarily grassy weeds and one that will work on broadleaf weeds. Each product will list the weeds controlled by name on the label. Both can be applied on the same day in separate applications and can be watered in together for protection against both types of weeds. 

Text Only
Farm and Ranch
  • Clematis: Bring about propagation by cuttings

    Clematis — those graceful, vining gorgeous bloomers adoring trellises, obelisks and any other garden structures. Admit it, they are amazing. Amazing, but sometimes pricey and hard to find. 

    June 19, 2014

  • How and when to divide daffodils

    Blooming daffodils on my property are the much anticipated sign that spring has arrived. Every year I plant hundreds of daffodils and when they bloom my first thought always is, why didn’t I plant more? 

    April 17, 2014

  • Scammers targeting elderly, woman says

    When Berta Rhodes got a phone call from someone claiming to be her grandson last week, telling her he had been arrested in Mexico and needed her and her husband to wire him money to get home, she was scared.

    March 13, 2014

  • New peach trees available at JCMG plant sale

    Texas A&M’s Department of Horticultural Sciences has developed exceptional new varieties of peaches for Texas gardeners. The trees have been under development since the mid-1990s and have been tested in orchards around the state. 

    March 13, 2014

  • Bare root roses and how to plant

    It was a typical Saturday morning. I was at the computer doing my homework for college and listening to the different garden experts on line.

    January 30, 2014

  • Seminar on cattle set for Jan. 21

    There is no question that the beef cattle business has undergone some trying times the past few years. Significant changes within the beef industry, combined with increased production costs, drought and national and world economic woes have affected the entire beef production chain.  It is now more important than ever to stay current and up-to-date on new technologies and practices.

    January 8, 2014

  • Helpful tips to avoid winter plant damage

    With the icy spell we recently experienced and the low temperatures we are having almost every week it is quite evident that various plants did or will suffer some damage. If you look more closely at your trees, shrubs and flowering plants you can see burnt and curling leaves on some of them. 

    January 8, 2014

  • Livestock show a great experience

    While most students across Johnson County are finishing up their Christmas break and trying to get in some last-minute fun before heading back to school next week, Johnson County 4-H members are at home spending hours perfecting their animals and projects for the upcoming Johnson County Junior Livestock Show and Youth Fair.  

    January 3, 2014

  • A few New Year’s resolutions for your yard

    Have you made those pesky resolutions yet? Do you need a few so your yard will be at its best? A good gardener uses this cold down time to review and dream. And to be sure your dreams come true it takes some planning or resolutions.

    December 31, 2013

  • Wreaths are old traditions

    Wreaths are traditional, not only for Christmas decorating, but over the centuries for many other indications and celebrations. They were called diadems, meaning a thing bound around. Early ones were worn by royalty and were bands of fabric worn on royal bonnets. 

    December 24, 2013

Front page
Latest CTR Videos
Facebook
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Front page
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page
House Ads
Featured Ads
CTR Sports
Follow us on twitter